Skip to main content

Ensemble Modern

Union Hall, Maribor

Petra Strahovnik: Q.M. (Quantum Mechanics) (2014)
Vinko Globokar: Substitution anonyme (2007)
Matej Bonin: Techno (2023, new work) (text Ana Pepelnik)
Nina Šenk: Stump the Guesser (2021)
Vito Žuraj: The Book of Bodies (2020) (text Aleš Šteger)

Closing concert of the Maribor Festival 2023 and opening concert of the Orchestral Cycle 2023/2024


Ensemble Modern is regarded as one of the most incisive collectives for the performance of contemporary music. The musicians of this ensemble are more than just performers: together, in larger or smaller configurations, they encourage the creation of new works by leading composers and closely cooperate with them in the creative process, collectively discovering new sound worlds and compositional concepts.

Among the artists with whom they collaborate, we often find Slovenian composers. A fruitful longstanding collaboration connects them with one of the giants of the European musical avant-garde, Vinko Globokar. The occasion of Slovenia being the guest of honour at the prestigious book fair in Frankfurt, where Ensemble Modern is also based, has encouraged the musicians to engage with Slovenian music and literature in even more detail.

The concert programme created specifically for this occasion features works by prominent Slovenian composers and poets: Matej Bonin has created a new work for the programme based on Ana Pepelnik’s poetry collection Techno, Vito Žuraj has contributed the composition The Book of Bodies in reference to the eponymous poetry collection by Aleš Šteger, and Nina Šenk’s music for the film Stump the Guesser is just as convincing on the concert stage. The concert programme will be rounded out with the instrumental works Q. M. (Quantum Mechanics) by Petra Strahovnik and Substitution anonyme by Vinko Globokar.

The international ensemble will be joined by Slovenian soprano Nika Gorič, who is also enjoying great success on the international stage. Before the performance of the works by Matej Bonin and Vito Žuraj, the poems set to music by the two composers will be read by their authors, Ana Pepelnik and Aleš Šteger.

Tickets (online purchase): 25 € / Senior 23 € / Disability 21 € / Students 7 €.

Discounted tickets can be purchased at the Information office of Narodni dom Maribor or at the concert venue up to an hour before the concert.

color contrast
text size
highlighting content
zoom in