Skip to main content

Poems of Eternity

Knights' Hall, Regional Museum Maribor

Alfred Schnittke: Suite in the Old Style, Op. 80
Alfred Schnittke: Cello Sonata No. 1 (1978)
Arvo Pärt: Für Alina
Mieczysław Weinberg: Piano Trio, Op. 24


Žiga Faganel, Alja Mandič Faganel and Nejc Lavrenčič combine the key qualities of the musician who achieves that little bit more: impeccable instrumental mastery, a knowledge of musical styles and an inexhaustible desire to discover the secrets of musical works. They describe their programme for the Maribor Festival 2023 as “Poems of Eternal Chaos”, and although it mainly consists of works by the great composers of the previous century, the musicians exploit these works to subtly reveal the feeling of our own time.

The trio of exceptional instrumentalists will safely guide us on a journey through music that ventures into the mysterious, often dark, but also exquisitely beautiful landscapes of our inner selves. We will hear music that recalls the carefreeness we attribute to the past, as in Alfred Schnittke’s Suite in the Old Style and Cello Sonata. Arvo Pärt’s piano miniature will provide a meditative pause that will prepare us for the poignant music of Mieczysław Weinberg, in which we recognise the composer’s difficult experience of the Second World War, but also the hope that, even in the most difficult times, we are not alone.

Tickets (online purchase): 15 € / Senior 12 € / Students, Disability 7,50 €

Discounted tickets can be purchased at the Information office of Narodni dom Maribor or at the concert venue up to an hour before the concert.

color contrast
text size
highlighting content
zoom in